Bravo Mr. Ulman! BRAVO!!!

soda machineI had this post all ready to go on Friday and then the tragedy in Connecticut happened.  That just shot my dog along with the headache I was enduring. So here we go two days later.

This is an issue that isn’t really and it is way overblown. However I must say Ken Ulman’s executive order to stop the sale of sodas on county property gets a big thumbs up from me. I’m ready to send that man a bottle of Scotch for having the carjonas to issue it.  Anyone who knows me in real life knows that I am a bit of a health nut. I think Americans in general are growing way too big and we ignore many health warning signs in the name of MYOB.

When I heard about this order Mr. Ulman issued I thought ‘uh oh. The whiners will surely claim that this is too much government’. And I was right. What is the fuss about really? His order only says that the county will not provide sugary drinks and sodas as an option on county property. Nothing stops you from bringing your own soda to the library, the George Howard building or any other property. Get over it.

Sip on this Cokeheads. I don’t buy white rice or white bread because it’s cheap crap that I refuse to serve to my family. If you come to my home for dinner you can bet that I will not serve it to you either even if you love it. That is my prerogative. If you don’t like it bring your own or don’t come over for a meal. I’m not going to help you stay unhealthy just to be a good hostess. This is the message I’m getting from this order. Do what you want to your body but don’t expect the K.U. and the boys to be an accomplice. Seems like that’s the opposite of “too much government”.

Obesity is linked to soooooo many health and social issues yet people always want to avoid that conversation.  Pardon the expression but obesity is the elephant in the room that we all want to overlook in order to avoid hurting people’s feelings. It’s time to face that elephant head on, make some bold decisions and push for better health education for everyone.  This is about prevention not reaction.

I don’t like to quote movies much but Steel Magnolias said it best “An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of manure”. Good work on this one K.U.!!

hocoblogs@@@

One thought on “Bravo Mr. Ulman! BRAVO!!!

  1. Pingback: Cheers Dr. Calvin Ball!! | From the Scratch Pad of An Urban Bushwoman

Leave a comment