I Don’t Hear Merriweather Anymore

348sDo you hear what I don’t hear? I’m referring to Merriweather Post Pavilion and the concerts that used to dampen my summer flow like a wet, stinky sponge. I was driving down 29 yesterday morning and saw a long line of cars heading towards Merriweather. I thought maybe there was a daytime concert happening. I still don’t know what that was about. As I continued on it hit me: I haven’t heard a concert from Merriweather all summer. Suddenly the angels sang, the harps played a few chords and the sun shone directly on my path. 🙂

I have expressed in the past my disdain for that concert venue being too freaking loud. I live precisely five miles from there and yet the show sounds like it’s so close I could go to my backyard and wipe the sweat from the band member’s faces. And I am not the only one who felt the strain of outdoor musical theater. People who loved closer to it complained as well.

Oh happy day!! Oh happy DAY!!! I don’t hear the concerts right now. I can’t recall the last time I’ve heard one. Is this a sign of things to come? I really hope so. I sleep much better this season without a bass booming through my walls every weekend.

 

#HoCoBlogs

One thought on “I Don’t Hear Merriweather Anymore

  1. Hilarious!! Well Soror, don’t get too excited about your new found peace! The 2014 Summer Spirit Fest will be at Merriweather on Aug 4 from 3pm until! My experience with that annual concert is that it last ALL DAY LONG!! Too long for my short attention span, hence the reason why I will not be attending! On the plus side, you can enjoy listening to the soulful sounds of Janelle Monae and Raheem Devaughn without the expensive ticket prices! 🙂

Leave a Reply

