Four things I must remember in resume writing

I just updated my resume. What an annoying experience!! I haven’t touched my resume in about four years. Yeah I know, I know. Shame on me but what can I say? I’m a pretty loyal employee and my bosses seem to like me so I haven’t been on the brink of being fired (or at least I don’t think I have). I haven’t had a need to do any updating. Turns out that is a mistake.  I need to do this every year. You never know what may happen. Four things I have figured out from this experience.

  1. Write down my accomplishments. I completed trainings and have gotten certificates for things that I have long since forgotten. It didn’t seem like a big deal at the time but it could make a world of a difference to a potential employer.
  2. No one gives a crap about my work experience beyond 5 years. I could fill them in during an interview but writing down every responsibility I have had on the job since I graduated college is rather boring.
  3. Resumes these days have to have an objective. I don’t know why.
  4. It’s Bachelor of Arts(or Science) not Bachelor’s of Arts. It’s Master of Arts (or Science) not Master’s of Arts. I have one of each but I forgot the exact wording.

And don’t even get me started on the cover letter.  People may think that because I’m a writer that I can just whip that out but NO I cannot. It actually takes some work for me to think of what to say. I want to be sure to include all the right buzz words and trends from the field I’m applying in to get the employers to notice me. I think I did ok but who knows.

Ok. I just wanted to blog that and maybe my thoughts could help somebody else.

 

3 thoughts on “Four things I must remember in resume writing

  1. As a professional resume writer, I can’t tell you how much you hit the nail on the head here. For real. Those EXACT reasons you mentioned should be motivation enough for job seekers who read this blog post to sit down and update their resume often. Forgetting some of your accomplishments could cost you the job you want. You can’t afford to squander those types of opportunities. Here is an article I wrote that actually details this exact subject even further: http://www.moneyresumes.com/update-your-resume-before-its-too-late/

    -Ian Matthew

Leave a Reply

