Half Marathon Update #1

20130128-094628.jpg

Obstacle: Winter weather. It has been so cold and snowy lately that going outdoors to run has been a struggle. I hate running in extreme conditions. I have nothing to prove by doing that. I will not win the race and I’m not trying to. But alas I do see the goal and believe it’s achievable but only if I suck it up and run (cold weather or not). I tried to find one of those runner ski mask thingies at Dick’s on Saturday and they were all sold out. BUMMER!! I guess that’s what I get for waiting until the last minute. So far this is no fun.

On a positive note, I’ve finally got a training schedule that I can stick with through the next few months. I am signed up to do the Cherry Blossom Ten Miler in April (YES!!!! I made it into the lottery). I figured if I can handle that distance another 3 miles won’t kill me. This race will give me a good gauge on how I will do for the half. Anyway, thanks to this race I am enrolled in a virtual training program that tells me how many miles to run daily. Awesome times five! I don’t feel like finding a program to train with. Just tell me how far to go and let me do my thing. That’s lazy ain’t it??  Yeah I know. I know.

Anyway, just wanted to check in and use this cool mobile app to write a blog. Now you’re all caught up. Thanks for reading!

Previous running related posts:  Half Marathon Bound

Leave a Reply

