Things that make me smile: A good Donnie Hathaway ballad

Donnie Hathaway

Donnie Hathaway- The Black Shakespeare?

I just HAD to mention this to you good people. One of my fave old school R&B singers is Donnie Hathaway. Singer and songwriter, he was best known for his duets with the lovely Roberta Flack (think Where is the Love?) Tonight I was reminded of how talented this man was as a solo artist as well. The song You Were Meant for Me literally stopped me in my tracks while I was pumping gas this evening. I love love LOVE this song.  Check out the lyrics.

You were meant for me
No one else could come between this love, I know
Cause I’ll never let you go

You and me…it seems
Never have a problem we can’t overcome
Cause you’ll always be the one

Never thought I’d be so happy
Loving you has made feel so fine
I can see my friends turn green with envy
Everytime I tell them, I’m so glad you’re mine

You were meant for me
No one else could come between this love, I know
Cause I’ll never let you go

You and me it seems…never have a problem we can’t overcome
Cause you’ll always be the one….yeah

Never did one thing to hurt me
You always understood my ways
If I could, I’ll stay right here beside you
With your hand in mine, making love for days

You were meant for me
No one else could come between this love, I know
Cause I’ll never let you go

You were meant for me

Or better yet CLICK HERE  to listen to this sonnet set to music and recited by a man with a voice like butter.  I wish men could express themselves like this these days. Where’s the romance in 2012? Probably hiding in 1978. Sigh…. Oh Donnie!! They just don’t make ’em like you anymore.

2 thoughts on “Things that make me smile: A good Donnie Hathaway ballad

Leave a Reply

