Things that make me shake my head: neglecting myself

So it all started when I went to crawl under the secretary’s desk at work to fix her computer and my pants SPLIT WIDE OPEN. It made a hole big enough to out my head through (see photo). Was I embarrassed? Slightly. But more importantly I was freaked out because I thought I had gained weight.  After all this running and watching what I eat how could I possibly be gaining weight.  I checked my measurements when I got home.  No change since June. WHEW!!!  Also,on my drive home after a very long day, my neck and back started having spasms.  Out of the clear blue sky I couldn’t turn my head  to the left  (boy did that make my drive home interesting).

As I thought about it more I realized that I am doing a big ‘no-no’.  I run around all the time making sure that everyone else is ok.  That includes my family, my boss, my editors, my students, my girlfriends, etc. I rarely make time for myself.  I can’t tell you the last time I just sat around and did absolutely nothing or  went shopping for clothes for me (the pants are about five years old and, upon closer inspection, very worn out). Clearly I need to make the time to shop for me and relax more. The neck thing wasn’t a fluke. It was stress and I know it.  Something’s gotta give but I can’t see what that will be right now. I have  some specific goals in mind and I gotta work hard to get them.  I can’t stop until I’ve reached them.  But I can take a mental health break and  buy some pants that are strong enough to hang with this ambitious Urban Bushwoman. Retail therapy here I come.

How do I end up being assed out when I put everyone first? Isn’t taking care of others what I’m supposed to do?

2 thoughts on “Things that make me shake my head: neglecting myself

  1. There should be an overlap between taking care of yaself and caring for others. Making sure not to overlook either side, after all if you don’t take care of yourself you will not be able to care for the needs of your family, friends or anyone else..

Leave a Reply

